top of page
Notebooks and Scissor

Mission

Bridges Preparatory Academy offers an inclusive, rigorous, college-ready and trauma-sensitive education that provides ALL students with the academic and social-emotional skillset to excel in high school and beyond.​

Bridges Preparatory Academy students are confident, disciplined, proactive leaders who will successfully transition into institutions of higher learning and become integral and influential “agents of change” in society. As responsible citizens who understand and participate in the democratic process and recognize its value in a global context, BPA students develop a foundation in critical thinking skills of application, analysis, synthesis and evaluation. BPA students cultivate attributes critical for all 21st century learners: communication, technology utilization, collaboration, critical evaluation, opportunity evaluation, and emotional intelligence.

Our Team

We are dedicated to providing your child with the tools they need to succeed both academically and emotionally. Our team is committed to helping your child thrive in this ever-changing world.

Staff

Alejandro Gómez
Executive Director/ Principal
agomez@bpacompton.org

Miss. Sabrina
Operations Manager
sabrina@bpacompton.org

Mr. Medina 
School Counselor
jmedina@bpacompton.org

Ms. Medina
Office Manager
imedina@bpacompton.org

Mr. Secundino
Parent Community Coordinator
jsecundino@bpacompton.org

Teachers

Ms. Morikawa
6th Grade Teacher
lmorikawa@bpacompton.org

Mrs.Rodriguez
6th Grade Teacher 
arodriguez@bpacompton.org 

Mr. Asencio
7th grade teacher
oasencio@bpacompton.org

Mr. Steve 
8th grade teacher
ssaunders@bpacompton.org

Ms. Magana
SPED teacher
lmagana@bpacompton.org

Mrs. Perera
ELD Coach
rperera@bpacompton.org

Paraprofessionals

Mr. Luis
Math Specialist
Paraprofessional 

Mr. Alejandro
Paraprofessional

Ms. Alicia
Paraprofessional

Mr. Rojas
Paraprofessional

Board Members

Alejandro Gomez
Founder/Executive Director
agomez@bpacompton.org 


David Owen
Board Member-President
dowen@bpacompton.org 

Mr. Gomez has been in the field of education for over 20 years playing various roles from teacher, to counselor, to principal, working with all students from elementary to high school. It was these roles that led him to take his experience to the next level. He obtained his bachelor's degree in psychology, followed by his master's in counseling and now human resources. Opening Bridges was the idea he knew he couldn't back down from.  The goal was to give the kids of Compton, better opportunities and better education to learn and succeed in life.

Mr. David Owen, our board president, has gone through many years of education earning his bachelor's, masters and PhD. An engineer with a love for education, Mr. Owen joined the board in support of closing the education gap that has been seen within the Compton school district. He believes all kids should have a fair chance at quality education while also tending to the needs of each individual student.


Mary Silva
Board Member - Secretary
msilva@bpacompton.org

Ms. Mary Silva has worked in the public administration and education field for over 20 years. Spending much of her time working as an ambassador for inner city communities, Ms. Silva aided in the development of outreach activities in over 25 schools. Ms. Silva joined the board to lend her expertise and continue her passion of working with inner city communities.


Paul Whyte
Board Member
pwhyte@bpacompton.org 

Mr. Paul Whyte is a retired pediatrician after working 40 years, having his own practice for most of that time. He respects the enthusiasm and values Bridges Preparatory Academy holds in in this providing best education and foundation for the children of the community. After growing up in a household where education was viewed as the steppingstone for people’s future successes he believes Bridges Preparatory Academy holds the same merit and enjoys being apart of the change he can see in the community.


Trena Spurlock
Board Member
tspurlock@bpacompton.org 

Mrs. Trena Spurlock presents an extensive background in the education field, holding a bachelor's and masters degree in education with credentials in administration. Mrs. Spurlock greatest work advancements are in the field of special education.  As an educational consultant Mrs. Spurlock strives to provide the best opportunities for children to grow, bridging the gap between low income communities and high level education.


Bryan Lee
Board Member
blee@bpacompton.org

Mr. Bryan Lee joined the Bridges Preparatory Academy board because he believes that real change can be made in the city of Compton through education and community outreach. With a background in many fields, it is his affiliation with men's ministry and homeless communities that drew him to expand his knowledge in the educational field and help bridge the gap between the communities he serves.

Team Meeting

Board Agenda

Academics

The transformative learning process at Bridges Preparatory Academy is designed to help our students grow both in and out of the classroom. Each day is filled with opportunities to experience new educational and social situations to further development. Our teachers create a safe and open setting, where they can guide students in exploring the world around them.

20240524_134651.jpg

Contact Us

Address

400 S Santa Fe 
Compton CA 90221

Contact

Opening Hours

Mon - Fri

7:00 am – 5:00 pm

  • Instagram
  • TikTok
bottom of page